Back You are here: Home New Music Albums We Can't Wait to Hear in 2014

Albums We Can't Wait to Hear in 2014


We're now at the end of 2013 and a cluster of amazing albums have just been released, marking the end of a fine year of music. But, to keep you all in suspense and give everybody something to look forward to, we've compiled a list of bands who have promised us albums in 2014. 


London psych rockers Temples are the U.K’s answer to Tame Impala. The band have been on a steady rise for awhile now, catching the attention of Heavenly Recording after uploading some videos to Youtube. Media attention also came from Temples fan Noel Gallagher, ever eager to share his opinions on the music scene when he shared his opinions on the band on BBC Radio and with NME (also citing Aussies Jagwar Ma). Heavenly Recordings first commissioned one of the band’s songs ‘Shelter Song’ to be released as a single, which was received with critical acclaim and the accumulation of a steady underground fan base. After ‘Shelter Song’ came ‘Colours To Life’, and now we have their first studio album ‘Sun Structures’, slated for release on February 10, 2014. After two steady single releases where even the B-sides could be singles themselves, 'Sun Structures' will finally provide us with a decent amount of Temples material. The pressure is on for Temples to live-up to their success of their singles with an equally stellar album, and if their next single ‘Mesmerise’ is anything to go by then I’m sure ‘Sun Structures’ will be more than adequate.

The Gin Club

Brisbane favourites The Gin Club will be touring Australia this December to mark the tenth anniversary of their first album and promote the re-release of their self-titled debut on vinyl. The Gin Club have been busy this year recording a new album for 2014, with the tenth anniversary tour being a good opportunity for the band to remind Australians why we first liked them so much. Little has been revealed about the album – just that we can expect it sometime next year and that like all Gin Club albums it is another collaborative effort from the big line-up.

The Horrors

Horrors fans have been waiting since 2011 for a follow up to their incredibly successful fourth LP ‘Skying’ and lucky for Horrors fans 2014 is rumoured to be the final release date. The album was meant to be released in September 2013, but the band decided to push it back a few more months to give themselves more time to fully flesh out their material. With the new release date in mind the band have decided to record some more material, so it’s probably a good thing in the long run. The band previewed two songs during festival season, ‘First Day of Spring’ and ‘Elixir Spring’, both of which revealed a more upbeat direction for the band. No doubt the music chameleons will impress us again with a new Horrors.

DZ Deathrays

Despite a hemisphere between them, Shane Parsons and Simon Ridley of DZ Deathrays are as prolific as ever with a new album being prepared for release next year. To give their fans a taste of what’s to come DZ released a single a few weeks back called ‘Northern Lights'.The single featured a very different DZ – less thrash, more…indie, bearing a much slower and more melodic sound than their signature singles, a transition that could be attributed to working with Sigur Ros and My Bloody Valentine producer Andy Savours. However, working with such an esteemed producer must surely mean the quality of their next release will be top-notch. If Northern Lights is anything to go by it could mean a step towards maturity as opposed to selling out, although it might seem that way at the moment. DZ have no incentive to change their sound to please the masses, seeing as they already have a strong following, so their recent developments can only be musically and creatively motivated. Maybe that's a naive viewpoint, but we should at least give them the benefit of the doubt until we hear the full album.


It’s been a damn good year for Peace. They were dubbed ‘Sound of 2013’ by the BBC and they released a debut album ‘In Love’ that was both a commercial and critical success. They also managed to visit our shores earlier this year with a show at The Zoo and did a stellar cover of Wham's Christmas hit 'Last Christmas' (seriously check it out on Youtube). Peace are a breathe of a fresh air in an indie market dominated by electro, bringing back the basics with simple guitar-led pop songs. Think catchy guitar riffs and melodious vocals in the tradition of The Strokes, Vampire Weekend and The Kinks. Frontman Harry Koisser says their first album was mostly him, ‘shouting’, and ‘emotional vomiting’, which may sound vulgar in theory, but the album sure did not. Next year’s album will involve, ‘the world being chewed up and spat out again'. Sounds good to me.


Oddly enough US band ‘Warpaint’ will be releasing a self-titled sophomore album in 2014 as a follow up to 2010’s ‘The Fool’. The album is self-produced by the Warpaint girls, with help from producer Flood (Sigur Ros) and mixing by Flood and Nigel Godrich (Radiohead). Sounds like a pretty good team to me. The band released a single, ‘Love Is To Die’ at the end of October that demonstrates the girls have not lost any of their talent.  Like the songs on their last album, ‘Love Is To Die’ has their same subtle and melancholic signature tone, with simple, but poignant lyrics and a loose, flowing structure. Hopefully we’ll see some more new material from Warpaint at Laneway festival this January.


It’s been six years years since we last heard from Beck and early Februrary 2014 will break that long gap with the release of ‘Morning Phase'. Having being described as a companion piece to 2002’s phenomenal ‘Sea Change’, with the team who worked on the album, Smokey Hormel, Justin Meldal-Johnson, Roger Joseph Manning Jr, Joey Waronker, all returning to work on ‘Morning Phase.’ This can only mean Beck’s latest could be some of his best.

The Dum Dum Girls


Too True’, The Dum Dum Girls third studio album, will be released January 31. The girls released a single early November called ‘Lost Boys and Girls Club’, a smooth and soulful track. Whilst the band’s partnership with H&M for the video for their single is a little dubious, the song itself is a stellar effort. The girls' last album was released as far back as 2011 so hopefully their new effort will be breathe of fresh air. Personally, I'm looking forward to The Dum Dum Girls taking a few more steps back in time in regards to musical influences, so that hopefully their sound will actually match their neo-sixties mod look. But that hope may be in vain.

In any case the time is ripe for all girl bands to dominate the music scene with Savages being my pick for the greatest all-female contribution of 2013. Personally, I think Warpaint's new album will be a 2014 favourite.

Make sure to let us know what you're looking forward to in the comments and what we should be looking forward to, as well!

Related Articles

Our Community

  • Facebook
  • instagram
  • Twitter
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Google+

Contact Us

  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.