Back You are here: Home New Music Perth-based Quartet Anton Franc Release Single "Moments"

Perth-based Quartet Anton Franc Release Single "Moments"

Anton Franc

Evocative, WAM Song of the Year Award-nominated, Perth-based quartet Anton Franc are readying themselves for the official release of their second EP All This Talk, out Fri Nov 1st through Firestarter.

To celebrate, the band will be launching the EP in their hometown the following day Sat Nov 2nd @ The Bakery, with Ruby Boots, Pumba, Louis And The Honkytonk and Daniel Champagne in tow. 

Produced in conjunction with Matt Gio [Split Seconds, Bastian's Happy Flight, Voltaire Twins], as one of the last projects recorded in Fremantle's famous Studio Couch, All This Talk soars through indie-pop and folktronic ground whilst maintaining an emphasis on storytelling, musicality and arrangement. Although sounds and textures have been brushed across the canvas to augment and sculpt the mood of the EP, the bottom-line ethos that got Anton Franc into operation in the first place stands steady; can these songs stand alone? Without the flourishes, garnishes and embellishments can they withstand the ‘campfire test’? 

They do. From opening track ‘Moments’, initially a ukulele and tambourine duet that grew wings, to the dynamic desert swirl of ‘Dust Storm’, the undulating vessel in the middle of the ocean that is ‘Boat Song’ to the reflective summer azure of ‘Water & Blue’, All This Talk at once calls up a conversational air, ambulatory feel and familiar maturity, while somehow balancing deft sophistication and a pastoral feel.

EP closer ‘Hearts’ is a display of versatility and brevity, providing the soulful antidote to ‘Water & Blue’s carefree sunshine; where the protagonist tries to work up the courage to end a perfectly functional, but romantically expired relationship. ‘Hearts’ also, to level out the dénouement, brings in a soft female vocal to sweeten the blow. 

Anton Franc

The seeds of Anton Franc were sown in 2010 when Josh Bowyer and Jamie Kuzich, two musicians from either side of the country, met far from home in the Kimberley region of Australia's far North-West. Medical students at the time, they bonded in their sparse and isolated surroundings, writing and recording the songs that would become Anton Franc's eponymous debut EP. Released in November 2011, the EP featured ‘Letting Go’ and ‘Memo’ – both of which picked up nominations in the WAM Awards Song Of The Year category; the clip for the former collecting an Australian Cinematographer's Society award too. 

The Anton Franc EP was initially meant only as a recording exercise for Bowyer and Kuzich. Nonetheless, the eclectic blend of folk songwriting and subtle electronica, evoking feelings of the sparse but beautiful isolation in which it was written, not only found receptive ears throughout Australia, but as far afield as Germany and Norway where its nostalgic overtones were utilised in two major TV campaigns. 

It was when the duo both re-settled in Perth, and commenced the arduous, rewarding, task of giving their music life in a live setting, that the bones of new EP All This Talk started to materialise, and the band’s lineup was fleshed out and stabilised. 

Joined by Josh Ellis (drums) and Matt Parker (bass/keys/synth) the foursome took their time, stripping back their songs back and rebuilding them, rearranging instrumentation and tracks, developing their live show. The end result was moving from a home-based duo to a live four piece to be reckoned with, taking to the stages of the Perth International Arts Festival, Groovin' the Moo, Rottofest and the Wave Rock Weekender as well as supporting the likes of Jens Lekman, Erlend Oye, Chet Faker & Andy Bull, all within their first year as a live band.

Watch this space for more live shows right across Australia to be announced.

“All This Talk” Is Out Fri Nov 1st through Firestarter Distribution

Related Articles

Our Community

  • Facebook
  • instagram
  • Twitter
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Google+

Contact Us

  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.